Free Book Online
Book Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Pdf

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

2.5 (2179)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    Robert Kurson(Author) Campbell Scott(Narrator)

    Book details


New York Times Bestseller 

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The PerfectStorm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers riskeverything to solve a great historical mystery–and make history themselves.

ForJohn Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testingthemselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatoryeffects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselvesto their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rustinghulks of sunken ships.
But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous diverswere prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlanticwaters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German U-boat, itsruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bones–allburied under decades of accumulated sediment.
No identifying marks were visible onthe submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert,or government had a clue as to which U-boat the men had found. In fact, the officialrecords all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken U-boat and crew at thatlocation.

Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest tosolve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler,at first bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almostmystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned U-boat sailors–formerenemies of their country. As the men’s marriages frayed under the pressure of a sharedobsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting morethan the identities of a lost U-boat and its nameless crew.

Author Robert Kurson’saccount of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is writtenwith a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangersof the ocean’s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing tobe true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.

His research is meticulous, his characters are skilfully drawn and the narrative is so well paced and constructed that it develops a hypnotic, almost suffocating tension. But far more than adventure, this is also a haunting, painful story of obsession. The comparisons with THE PERFECT STORM are not out of place; this is a memorable story, beautifully told. (The Sunday Times)Undersea thrills, a gripping mystery, incredible discoveries...written with great you-are-there intensity and dynamic verve. A pulse-quickening real-life thriller. (New York Times)[A] pulse-quickening account of the attempt to explore and identify the mystery sub . . . [a] fantastic yarn that happens to be true. (Newsweek)An irresistible sea yarn...Sometimes writers, like divers, stumble on treasure. (Time)Describes all the anguish, exhilaration and danger if deep-sea wreck diving in vivid detail...one of the best pieces of dive-related non-fiction I have read. (Sport Diver)Superlative .... If the publishers are dreaming of another PERFECT STORM, they may get their wish. (Publishers Weekly)A tremendously suspenseful story of discovery that comes as close as any book could to providing the reader with approximate sensations of deep sea diving and of life on a submarine at war, and that leaves us with a hell of an impression of the grit, guts, and compassion of a U-boat crew and the two American divers who risked everything to solve the mystery of their last mission. (John McCain, author of FAITH OF MY FATHERS) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

3.4 (3246)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

Read online or download a free book: Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

 

Review Text

  • By Norman on 19 August 2017

    Great story enjoyed it very much.

  • By R on 29 November 2016

    Very immersive.

  • By Whizz Kid on 24 September 2004

    I don't write reviews for books, but I will for this one. As a diver this book is fascinating. As someone disinterested in history, this has changed my mind.This is a book you won't want to put down until the mystery is solved. And even then you'll want to carry on reading it just to find out what happens to the divers. Along the way you'll feel cold and claustrophobic just as the divers did, you'll share their disappointment and sorrow for comrades lost.You'll even yearn to know more about the German submariners.This book is expertly written with a very vivid writing style. The experiences of the divers are shared ones and the WWII background fascinating. I have not read a book like it, but hope to find more.

  • By Ross Murray on 4 September 2017

    A fantastic story even if you're not particularly interested in the topic. However it is very obviously written by Americans, and for Americans, with all subtlety that implies...No doubt the guys involved are operating at the higher end of tech diving, but the dangers are often over-dramatised; and particularly annoying was the depths being reported in feet, (come on Kurson, go metric already).The book is mostly saved by the fact that its a really fascinating story, for me though, its just unreadably naff.

  • By Walter Kilgore on 29 June 2004

    My reading tastes have always been fiction: action, adventure, thrillers, and since going away to college two years ago I have not had time for any fun reading, But started this book last week and then could not put it down. It is TRUE action adventure!This is the story of two deep sea wreck divers who dive into a long lost wreck in over 200 feet of water, which they identify as a German U-boat. The book follows the lives of these two men as they attempt to discover the identity of the U-boat and discover things about themselfs. There lives are greatly changed by the discovery, Jobs changed, marriages lost, diving companions killed on the wreck, and lost to the bottle.The story is more than just about the men's dives on the wreck and there attempt to discover its identity, and the adventure involved in such an endeavor, but also about the characters (which are rich in this story) involved, the history behind the boat and Hitlers 3rd Riech. there is so much to learn on every page. In the end though it is the under water action that kept me enthralled. If you read this book you will gain an appreciation of the wonders and dangers of deep water diving.

  • By STEVE BRIGGS on 7 April 2006

    One of the best diving books I have read. Very exciting, well written, portrays a sense of adventure, human tradgedy, competitive spirit and eventually common purpose. As a diver I can't understand why they took the risks that they did, it was simply not worth it, but I know my limits and it was great reading about guys who were pushing theirs. The risks taken in the final push was just amazing, totally crazy and breathtaking, by this time my own pulse had risen, my breathing rate had increased and I could almost feel the nitrogen bubbling!

  • By Talking Head on 16 December 2011

    All i can say is if you read this book please also read Shadow Divers Exposed, to learn the real truth.It is a good read but this pair are gloryfied as being the two main divers to discover the truth about this wreck, and did not correct the writer onmany untruths, it also glorifies the danger of wreck diving to enhance the book, being a wreck diver this is realy irratating, as it may put many people off wanting to wreck dive by over enhansing the dangers involved.


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: